WNBA AWARD 2023 presented to Eve Bridburg of Grub Street

Eve Bridburg to receive the 2023 WNBA Award


Official Press Release: 2023 WNBA Award Press Release Eve Bridburg.

WNBA National announces the recipient of the 2023 WNBA Award: Eve Bridburg, Founder and Board Chair of Grub Street, Boston, MAThe WNBA Award is presented to a living American woman who has done meritorious work in the world of books beyond the duties and responsibilities of her profession or occupation. Nominees must derive part or all of their income from books or the allied arts.

“Nominations for this year’s award ranged from mystery writer to literacy champion,” said NC Weil, WNBA Award chair. “What distinguishes Bridburg is her meritorious work in building a writing community which has served as a model nationwide.”Bridburg founded Grub Street in 1997 as a place grounded in the Boston community, where writers could learn together, sharing techniques and exchanging ideas.

Their  Mission: GrubStreet works to remove social, cultural, and institutional barriers in order to facilitate and support an expansive and equitable artistic ecosystem where all voices thrive and where storytelling flourishes. This mission is essential because our collective voices have the power to shape a more just and connected world by revealing truths, transforming lives, and deepening human understanding.”

Writing programs not affiliated with academic institutions face an uphill battle for funding, recognition, and in attracting skilled instructors and reaching those in the community to whom the doors of academia are typically closed. The fact that GrubStreet celebrated its 25th anniversary in 2022 speaks volumes about the organization. It offers workshops, intensives, programs for teens, neighborhood programs, fellowships, scholarships, and consulting.

The WNBA Award (previously known as the Constance Lindsay Skinner Award) has been continuously awarded since 1940. Recent recipients include Hannah Oliver Depp, Lisa Lucas, Carla Hayden, Louise Erdrich, Amy King, and Ann Patchett.The full list of recipients includes former First Ladies, authors, activists, booksellers, librarians, and publishing professionals—all dedicated literary women whose achievements have enhanced the book world. 


The awards ceremony hosted by the WNBA to honor Bridburg will be held on June 2 at 7 p.m. ET in person in Boston. 

For more information email president@wnba-books.org.