Enter WNBA’s 2nd Annual Writing Contest!



2013 WNBA Writing Contest

Submission Period: August 15 – November 15, 2013

Online submissions only

Unpublished work only

Fiction 2,500 word limit – short fiction only; no novel excerpts or memoirs

Poetry: 3- 5 pages maximum

Your entry must be uploaded without your name, address, or contact information on the actual document. Your contact information will be collected on a separate form when you submit your entry. Applicants must be 18 years of age or older.

You may submit more than one entry, however, each one must be separately submitted and paid.

Acceptable formats are: Word Document 2007, Word Document 2003 or earlier version, RTF (Rich Text Format)


Fiction: Meg Waite Clayton

Poetry: Molly Peacock


Women’s National Book Association Members: $15 per entry

Non-Members: $20 per entry

Entries are submitted online at this link: Submit Your Entry

PRIZE: $250 cash prize and publication in the Bookwoman, the official publication of the Women’s National Book Association, with 10 chapters nationwide. Proceeds from the contest will go to support scholarships for writing conferences and other professional development training.

Contest winners will be announced March 2014.

Questions? E mail Contest Chairperson: joan@joangelfand.com

Thank you for your submissions! Proceeds from the contest help support scholarships for writing conferences and other professional development training.


The Women’s National Book Association is a 90+ year old venerated organization of women and men across the broad spectrum of writing and publishing. Our membership includes Editors, Publishers, Literary Agents, Professors, Academics, Librarians, Authors, Book Marketers and many others involved in the world of books.

After years of celebrating published authors, extraordinary book women (see our WNBA Award under “Awards”) and others in the field, we have decided it is time to celebrate emerging writers. In 2012, the first of our annual writing contests was announced.


WNBA 2012 Writing Contest Winners 


Winning Entry: Jessica Wallin Mace for “A Prize in Every Box”

Second Place: Anne Pound for “Beauty”

Third Place: Deborah Batterman for “All Mine”

Honorable Mention: Christine Eskilson for “Dorrie”


Winning Entry: Ellaraine Lockie for “Abandoned Garden”

Second Place: Harriet Shenkman for “Mirror, Mirror”

Third Place: Ruth Hill for “Light Bends around Shadows”

Honorable Mention: Amy Wright “Airport Proposal”

A downloadable pdf of the writers’ biographies is available here.

Winning entries have been published in a special edition of The Bookwoman