Don’t miss our May 9 meeting! Great Summer Reads book recommendations from Sally Brewster!

May 9 —  Great Summer Reads with Sally Brewster, Owner of Park Road Books

Monday, May 91796571_10152225007313856_388153803_n
7 – 9 PM
Park Road Books, Park Road Shopping Center

GREAT SUMMER READS is our annual favorite get-together, featuring book recommendations for summer reading from Sally Brewster, owner of Park Road Books. 

Sally will provide a list of books for us, and titles which are already published will be available for purchase at the bookstore, of course! 

We look forward to seeing many of you there. This is always an entertaining and informative occasion, so bring your friends, too!

______________________

Come to our next WNBA Great Group Reads Book Club meeting, Tuesday, May 3, 7 PM

We have a terrific book club in our chapter! 

As our reading guide, we use the list of 2015 Great Group Reads titles recommended for book clubs during WNBA’s National Reading Group Month. Starting in November 2015, we’re reading books from the current 2015 Great Group Reads list.  See below!

Our book for our May 3, 2016,  meeting is….

HENNA HOUSE 18775306HENNA HOUSE
by Nomi Eve

Scribner paperback

An evocative and stirring novel about a young woman living in the fascinating and rarely portrayed community of Yemenite Jews of the mid-twentieth century, from the acclaimed author of The Family Orchard.

In the tradition of Anita Diamant’s The Red Tent, HENNA HOUSE is the enthralling story of a woman, her family, their community, and the rituals that bind them.

Nomi Eve’s vivid saga begins in Yemen in 1920, when Adela Damari’s parents desperately seek a future husband for their young daughter. After passage of the Orphan’s Decree, any unbetrothed Jewish child left orphaned will be instantly adopted by the local Muslim community. With her parents’ health failing, and no spousal prospects in sight, Adela’s situation looks dire until her uncle arrives from a faraway city, bringing with him a cousin and aunt who introduce Adela to the powerful rituals of henna tattooing. Suddenly, Adela’s eyes are opened to the world, and she begins to understand what it means to love another and one’s heritage. She is imperiled, however, when her parents die and a prolonged drought threatens their long-established way of life. She and her extended family flee to the city of Aden where Adela encounters old loves, discovers her true calling, and is ultimately betrayed by the people and customs she once held dear.

HENNA HOUSE is an intimate family portrait and a panorama of history. From the traditions of the Yemenite Jews, to the far-ranging devastation of the Holocaust, to the birth of the State of Israel, Eve offers an unforgettable coming-of-age story and a textured chronicle of a fascinating period in the twentieth century.

HENNA HOUSE is a rich, spirited, and sensuous tale of love, loss, betrayal, forgiveness, and the dyes that adorn the skin and pierce the heart.

Nomi Eve is also the author of The Family Orchard, which was a Book-of-the-Month Club main selection and was nominated for a National Jewish Book Award. She has an MFA in fiction writing from Brown University and has worked as a freelance book reviewer for The Village Voice and New York Newsday. Nomi’s  stories and essays have appeared in The New York TimesGlimmer Train Stories, TheVoice Literary Supplement, Conjunctions, and The International Quarterly.  She teaches fiction writing at Drexel University and lives in Philadelphia with her family.

________________

Our meetings take place on the first Tuesday of each month, 7 PM, at the Panera on Fairview near SouthPark — see dates below. We have chosen books to take us through to next October when there will be a new Great Group Reads list released. If you have questions about our Book Club, please contact Kristen Knox at whitreidsmama@yahoo.com.

________________________________________________________________

Look at our great new logo!!

 

Isn’t this spiffy?  We think so!  We’re getting ready to celebrate WNBA’s centennial in 2017, so we’re giving our association a brand new look in preparation!

wnbaCharlotte

 

We’re busy updating logos here on the website and elsewhere, so there will be a short transition, but soon you’ll see our new one everywhere………. Stay tuned!